

REGIONAL OFFICE FOR Africa

## **REGIONAL COMMITTEE FOR AFRICA**

**ORIGINAL: ENGLISH** 

<u>Seventy-first session</u> Virtual session, 24–26 August 2021

## DESIGNATION OF MEMBER STATES OF THE AFRICAN REGION TO SERVE ON THE EXECUTIVE BOARD

The term of office of Burkina Faso and Kenya on the Executive Board will end with the closing of the Seventy-fifth World Health Assembly in May 2022.

In accordance with AFR/RC54/R11, which decided the arrangements to be followed in putting forward each year the Member States of the African Region for election by the Health Assembly at the Executive Board, it is decided as follows:

(a) Ethiopia and Senegal to replace Burkina Faso and Kenya in serving on the Executive Board starting with the one hundred fifty-first session in May 2022, immediately after the Seventy-fifth World Health Assembly. The Executive Board will therefore be composed of the following Member States as indicated in the table below:

Subregion 1	Subregion 2	Subregion 3
Ghana (2020–2023)	Rwanda (2021–2024)	Botswana (2020–2023)
Guinea-Bissau (2020–2023)	Ethiopia (2022–2025)	Madagascar (2020–2023)
Senegal (2022–2025)		

- (b) **Botswana** to serve as **Rapporteur of the Executive Board** as from the one hundred fifty-first session of the Executive Board.
- (c) **Ethiopia** to replace Ghana to serve on the Programme Budget and Administration Committee (PBAC) from the one hundred fifty-first session of the Executive Board. The PBAC will therefore be composed of Ghana and Madagascar from the African Region.
- (d) **Rwanda** to replace Burkina Faso to serve on the Nelson Mandela Award for Health Promotion selection panel from the one hundred fifty-first session of the Executive Board.