ORIGINAL: ENGLISH



REGIONAL COMMITTEE FOR AFRICA

<u>Seventy-fourth session</u> Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo, 26–30 August 2024

PROPOSALS FOR MEMBER STATES OF THE AFRICAN REGION TO SERVE ON THE EXECUTIVE BOARD AND IN POSTS OF THE EXECUTIVE BOARD

The terms of office of Ethiopia and Senegal on the Executive Board will end with the closing of the Seventy-eighth World Health Assembly in May 2025.

In accordance with resolution AFR/RC54/R11, which decided the arrangements to be followed in putting forward each year the Member States of the African Region for election by the Health Assembly, it is proposed as follows:

(a) Cabo Verde and Central African Republic to replace Ethiopia and Senegal in serving on the Executive Board starting with the one-hundred and fifty-seventh session in May 2025, immediately after the Seventy-eighth World Health Assembly. The Executive Board will therefore be composed of the following Member States of the African Region as indicated in the table below:

| Subregion 1 | Subregion 2 | Subregion 3 |
|------------------------|--------------------------------------|----------------------|
| Togo (2023–2026) | Cameroon (2023–2026) | Comoros (2023–2026) |
| Cabo Verde (2025–2028) | Central African Republic (2025–2028) | Lesotho (2023–2026) |
| | | Zimbabwe (2024–2027) |

- (b) **Togo for election** to serve as **Vice-Chair of the Executive Board** as from the one-hundred and fifty-seventh session of the Executive Board.
- (c) **Zimbabwe for appointment to replace Senegal** to serve on the Programme Budget and Administration Committee (PBAC) as from the one-hundred and fifty-seventh session of the Executive Board. The PBAC will therefore be composed of Comoros and Zimbabwe from the African Region.
- (d) Central African Republic for appointment to replace Lesotho to serve on the Standing Committee on Health Emergency Prevention, Preparedness and Response (SCHEPPR) as from as from the one-hundred and fifty-seventh session of the Executive Board. The SCHEPPR will therefore be composed of Togo and Central African Republic from the African Region.