ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

DESIGNATION OF MEMBER STATES OF THE AFRICAN REGION TO SERVE ON THE EXECUTIVE BOARD

The Regional Committee for Africa,

Having considered the recommendations of the subcommittee on revision of the method of work of the Regional Committee with regard to the designation of Member States to serve on the Executive Board.

- 1. DECIDES that the following arrangements should be followed in putting forward each year the Member States of the African Region for election by the Health Assembly:
 - (a) For the purpose of ensuring a geographical balance of Member States from the African Region serving on the Board, the regional membership should be divided into three subregions (Subregion I, Subregion II and Subregion III), corresponding to the African Region's geographical grouping.
 - (b) Each subregion should be allocated two seats out of the seven to which the Region is entitled, with the seventh seat rotating among the subregions. The first subregion to benefit from the floating seat shall be chosen by consensus, failing which it shall be chosen by lot. Thereafter, the seat would rotate in numerical order, that is, for example, from Subregion III to I and back to III.
 - (c) Member States currently represented on the Board would continue their term of membership, with empty seats arising within each subregion being filled in accordance with the new arrangements described herein, commencing, for the members on the Board, from May 2005 (as illustrated in the annex to this resolution).
- 2. FURTHER DECIDES that, pursuant to the arrangements described in paragraph 1 above, Liberia (Subregion I), Rwanda (Subregion II) and Madagascar (Subregion III), together with Namibia (Subregion III, as the floating seat) should be the Member States from the African Region to be designated to replace Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea when their terms of membership expire.
- 3. REQUESTS Liberia, Rwanda, Madagascar and Namibia to confirm to the Regional Director, at least six weeks before the start of the Fifty-eighth World Health Assembly, their readiness to designate representatives to serve on the Executive Board.

ANNEX

Proposed grouping of countries by geographical blocs and alphabetical order (accepted at the fifty-fourth session of the Regional Committee for Africa)

	Subregion I Subregion II		Subregion III		
1.	Algeria	1.	Burundi	1.	Angola
2.	Benin	2.	Cameroun	2.	Botswana
3.	Burkina Faso	3.	Central African Republic	3.	Comoros
4.	CapeVerde	4.	Chad	4.	Lesotho
5.	Côte d'Ivoire	5.	(Republic of) Congo	5.	Madagascar
6.	Gambia	6.	Democratic Republic of Congo	6.	Malawi
7.	Ghana	7.	Equatorial Guinea	7.	Mauritius
8.	Guinea	8.	Eritrea	8.	Mozambique
9.	Guinea-Bissau	9.	Ethiopia	9.	Namibia
10.	Liberia	10.	Gabon	10.	Seychelles
11.	Mali	11.	Kenya	11.	South Africa
12.	Mauritania	12.	Rwanda	12.	Swaziland
13.	Niger	13.	Sao Tome and Principe*	13.	Tanzania
14.	Nigeria	14.	Uganda	14.	Zambia
15.	Senegal			15.	Zimbabwe
16.	Sierra Leone				
17.	Togo				

^{*} The initial WHO grouping has been slightly modified by transferring Sao Tome and Principe from Subregion III to Subregion II and by not taking into account Saint Helena, previously included in Subregion III but not a recognized Member State.